Annual Sport Events

Interhouse Carnivals

There are three major Interhouse Carnivals conducted throughout the year: Swimming (The Mary Murray Cup), Cross-Country (Fr Gaetan Pereira Cup) and Athletics (Fr Kevin King Championship Cup). These sports activites have an educational benefit for all students and serve to develop their determination, physical skills and coordination, as well as their sense of belonging, House spirit and cooperation with staff and peers. These carnivals cater for all students through incorporating both competitive and non-competitive (novelty) activites. They also serve as a process for selection in the College's representative teams in these sports.

Associated and Catholic Colleges (ACC) Carnivals

The College is a member of the Associated and Catholic Colleges (ACC) Association. The ACC was first formed in 1937 by the Principals of CBC Highgate, Fremantle and St Patrick's School, Perth. From 1988 to the present, rapid expansion has taken place with a membership of over 66 schools and colleges, catering for a student membership in excess of 47,000. Significantly, membership has extended to Anglican, Baptist, Uniting Church, Jewish and non-denominational school systems.

Through membership of this association we aim to encourage participation in sport and cater for all levels of student ability. Currently, the College participates in the following ACC carnivals and competitions: Swimming (Term 1), Cross-Country (Term 2), Hockey (Term 2), Northern Associated Schools (NAS) Competition (Terms 1 and 2) and Athletics (Term 3).

Northern Associated Schools (NAS) Competition

The Northern Associated Schools (NAS) competition is a sub-association of the Associated and Catholic Colleges (ACC) association. The NAS competition is conducted during Term 1 and 2. The aim of this competition is to promote participation and healthy competition against other Catholic Colleges. The schools involved in this competition are John XXIII College, Sacred Heart College, Chisholm College, Newman College and Servite College.

With 67 teams, the competition caters for boys and girls selected in separate teams in most year groups with some teams in combined year groups. The College must provide teams for all sports in this competition. Games are played after school on a home and away basis.

Summer Sports
Basketball - Years 7, 8, 9, 10 and Seniors
Cricket - Years 7, 8, 9 and 10
Tennis - Years 7, 8, 9, 10 and Seniors
Touch - Seniors
Beach Volleyball - Years 7, 8 and 9

Winter Sport
Football (boys) - Years 7, 8 and 10
Soccer - Years 7, 8, 9, 10 and Seniors
Netball (girls) - Years 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12
Volleyball (girls) - Year 8/9 and Seniors
Volleyball (boys) - Seniors
Badminton - Year 8/9
Touch - Years 8 and 9
Floorball (mixed) - Year 7

School Sport WA

Entering teams in the School Sport WA tournaments provides our students with the opportunity to compete against a variety of secondary schools in the metropolitan area. It also provides an avenue to state selection for the skilled performer. The format of these competitions varies between one day carnivals to after school competitions. The College currently competes in the following School Sport WA competitions: cricket, cross-country, AFL football, hockey, rugby, netball, water polo, touch football, triathlon and golf. Entry into these competitions is dependent upon student interest adn availability of staff.