Around the Primary

Dear Parents

Today Dr Annette Pedersen, our Magis and Ignatius Centre Coordinator ran the inaugural John XXlll College Primary Philosothon at the Art Gallery of Western Australia. Over 70 students from nine local schools attended, namely Carmel School, St Thomas' Primary School, Newman College, Scotch College, Hale School, Brighton Catholic Primary School, Holy Spirit Primary School and St John's Primary School participated in this Philosothon. Our Primary school was proudly represented by Jamie Cannon, James Hackett, Thomas Hodge, Samuel Jobson, Brianna Judge, Zoe Lam, Karl Maluga, Ella Matthews, Danny McGurgan, Olivia Purnell, Harrison Thong, James Vardenega.

Mrs Jane Roche (Primary Art Specialist) and the other facilitators posed questions to the students to help them access the art works and also to open philosophical discussion and to explore abstract ideas. The students also had the opportunity to visit the MoMA exhibition, Van Gogh, Dali and Beyond: The World Reimagined. The students explored this exhibition and discussed a mystery philosophical question, contained in a sealed envelope! At the end of the day the students had the opportunity to report on the questions they considered and what thoughts the group had in relation to the questions. Special thanks to Dr Pedersen for organising this fantastic educational experience and to our students for being wonderful ambassadors of 'excellence in co-education'.

Congratulations to our John XXIII Primary Music Eisteddfod Winners for 2013:


Special Mention
Special Mention

Ava Kwei (2B)
Claudia Clyne (4G)


Special Mention

Thomas Hodge (6B)


Special Mention
Special Mention

Aerin Chai (5G)
Grace Barbour (4B)


Most Outstanding Performance

Year 5 Band


Thomas Hodge (6B)
Julian O'Rourke (5B)
Aerin Chai (5G)
Grace Barbour (4B)


Congratulations to the following Year 4 students who will be receiving their First Communion in their parishes this weekend:

St Cecilia's, Floreat

Bailey Arundell
Grace Barbour
Declan Carroll
Talei Macdougall
Kanan Miranda
Abbey Chapman

St Thomas the Apostle, Claremont

Hayden de Courtenay
Rosa Defrancesco
Abbey Fethers
Christopher Fuller
James Hodge
Joshua King
Daniel Morgan
James Purdy
Thomas Standen
William Vardanega
Georgia Wholley

Sophie Flack
Benjamin Fuller
Charlotte Gellard
Caitlin Green
Stella Kenny
Olive Matthews
Oliver Mitteregger
Thomas Rear
Emma Scalise
Mia Smith
Ashleigh Tudori
Gabriele Evans

Congratulations to the following Year 3 Students who celebrated their First Reconciliation at St Thomas in Claremont on Wednesday night:

Shenae Baker
Jemima Broderick
Hugo Croudace
James Green
Alice O'Sullivan
Jordan Smith

Oliver Stickand
Zoe Benneke
Genevieve Ferguson-Allen
Thomas Linsten
Helena Phillips
Ruby Williamson

It was wonderful to see so many parents and grandparents at our Assembly today. Thank you to Mrs Crowley and Year 2B for organising today's entertaining assembly. It was so lovely to see how proud the young children were of their performance on the stage. Well done to all the children that received a certificate - we are very proud of your efforts!

We hope many parents and friends can join us at the Music Eisteddfod on Sunday afternoon. The concert begins at 5.30pm in Roncalli Hall.

Kind regards

Antoinette De Pinto
Head of Primary



Last Sunday Zoe Broderick competed in the
State Acrobatic Gymnastic Championships.
Zoe placed first (Gold Medal) in the Level 5 Trio,
and achieved a third place (Bronze) for this
overall division. Congratulations Zoe!

  • Thursday 4th July - IPSHA Winter Carnival

Everyone is welcome to come along and support this event!